User name

Don't have a user name yet?
Register here.


Talks between European ministerial troika held at Brioni

Ljubljana, 7 July - On the Istrian archipelago of Brioni, talks are being held between the European ministerial troika, which includes the foreign ministers of the Netherlands, Luxembourg, and Portugal and representatives of Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia and Yugoslavia. The Slovenian delegation comprises the President of the Presidency, Milan Kučan, President of the Parliament, France Bučar, President of the Government, Lojze Peterle, and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dimitrij Rupel. The Croatian delegation is being lead by President Tuđman, the Serbian delegation, due to the engagement of Milošević, by former President of the Yugoslav presidency, Jović, and the Yugoslav delegation is made up of two parts - the governmental lead by President Marković, and the presidency, of which all members are expected to arrive. As we have heard, the main issue is the understanding of the item of the European Council's treaty of peace which concerns the further implementation of Slovenian sovereignty. The Slovenian side comprehends this as a moratorium on the implementation of further steps of independence, and the Yugoslav as the suspension of all measures passed up to now.

© STA, 1991