Slovenia's presidents: Kučan, Drnovšek, Türk, Pahor

Ljubljana, 11 August - In the autumn, Slovenian voters will elect the president of the republic for the sixth time since independence. So far, the country has had four different presidents, with the first one, Milan Kučan, the only one to get two terms in office. He was also the only one to win, both times, in the first round.

Two former Slovenian presidents: Milan Kučan, who held the office between 6 December 1992 and 1 December 2002, and Danilo Türk, who was in office from 23 December 2007 to 22 December 2012.
Photo: Daniel Novakovič/STA
File photo

Former Slovenian President Janez Drnovšek, who held the office from 22 December 2002 to 23 December 2007.
Photo: Daniel Novakovic/STA
File photo

Incumbent President Borut Pahor, whose first, five-year term in office runs out at the end of December.
Photo: Domen Groegl/STA
File photo

The rest of this news item is available to subscribers.
The news item consists of 1.803 characters (without spaces) or 298 words words.

Buy the news item. Price: 2 tokens; on account: 0 tokens.

© STA, 2017