Voters in 47 municipalities head to polls in mayoral run-offs

Ljubljana, 4 December - In 47 municipalities where new mayors were not elected in the first round of the local elections, voters will head to the polls on Sunday to elect them in run-offs. Polls will be open between 7am and 7pm, with first partial results starting to come in after 7.30pm.

Voters casting their ballots.
Photo: Bor Slana/STA
File photo

In 165 out of Slovenia's 212 municipalities, mayors were elected already in the first round on 20 November, but in 47 none of the candidates took more than 50%, and so the second round is necessary.

The run-offs will be held in six out of Slovenia's twelve urban municipalities, including Maribor, Kranj and Celje, the country's second, third and fourth largest cities, respectively.

As many as 490,639 voters will be able to cast their votes, and 928 polling stations will be open across the country. In certain municipalities a repeat election will be also held to elect members of city councils or other local bodies.

The election blackout that set in on Friday midnight is on until the polls close at 7pm.

© STA, 2022